Filed Under Architecture

The Pritchard Building

As one of the only commercial district buildings to survive the 1895 fire, undoubtedly due to its masonry construction, the Pritchard Building was extensively remodeled in 1926. The original brick exterior was stuccoed and the curvilinear parapet was added to give the building its Spanish Revival style (as can still be seen in the adjoining building). Capt. James Pritchard operated this store as James Pritchard & Son Hardware.

Audio

Images

The Pritchard Building today Source: Photo: Coherit Associates
Capt. James Pritchard relaxing outside the hardware store. Source: Ed Kimble and the North Brevard Historical Society and Museum
Captain Pritchard's son Boud and his wife Lola Pauline Smith Pritchard (affectionately known as "Miss Lovie") sitting in front of the hardware store. Source: Ed Kindle and the North Brevard Historical Society and Museum

Location

327 Washington Ave Titusville, FL 32780

Metadata

“The Pritchard Building,” Explore Historic Titusville FL, accessed December 3, 2022, http://history.titusville.com/items/show/39.