Filed Under Architecture

The Spell Building

Built in 1912 for Dr. J. C. Spell, the first licensed pharmacist to operate in Titusville, this two-story masonry vernacular building was originally the location of the Banner Drug Store. Other rooms and second floor offices were leased to various other businesses, including Brevard Realty; dentist, E.P. Lichtenberger, physician, R.F. McCleod; and the office of one of Titusville's most prominent businessmen, Jesse J. Parrish, who owned the Nevins Fruit Company.

Images

The Spell Building today Source: Photo: Coherit Associates
Interior of the Spell Pharmacy, with Dr. Spell on the right. Source: Ed Kimble and North Brevard Historical Society and Museum
Early 20th century view of the Spell Building with enlarged Banner Drugstore Source: Ed Kimble and North Brevard Historical Society and Museum
Soda fountain in the Banner Drugstore in the ground floor of the Spell Building Source: Ed Kimble and North Brevard Historical Society and Museum

Location

317 South Washington Ave. Titusville, FL

Metadata

“The Spell Building,” Explore Historic Titusville FL, accessed December 3, 2022, http://history.titusville.com/items/show/36.